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The Utah Board of Pardons & Parole

 Board created by Utah constitution (Art. VII, §12).

 Board statutory authority and responsibilities.  
(UCA §77, Chap. 27.)

 Independent state agency.

 Chairman is member of Governor’s Cabinet.



 5 Board Members.
 Full time state executive positions.

 Up to 5 pro tempore members available to fill in 
for the full time members, as needed.

The Utah Board of Pardons & Parole



 Board Members are appointed by the 
Governor and confirmed by the Senate.  

 Each member serves a staggered five year 
term.

The Utah Board of Pardons & Parole



BOARD RELEASE JURISDICTION

 All offenders committed to the custody of 
the Utah Department of Corrections.

 Includes all state felons and class A 
misdemeanants sentenced to incarceration 
at the Utah State Prison.
*** - 2011 Statute and Class A Misd.

(UCA §76-3-208)



BOARD AUTHORITY

 Clemency – Parole/Termination Before Expiration.

 Parole conditions.

 Commute / Reduce Sentences.

 Impose Restitution / Remit $$ Sanctions.

 Terminate Parole.

 Parole Violation Warrants.

 Parole Revocation.

 Pardons (Except Treason or Impeachment).



TYPES OF DECISIONS / HEARINGS

Most Board decisions, and all decisions affecting 
release, require concurrence of at least a majority 
of the Board (i.e., at least 3 votes in favor of the 
action).

 Original Parole Grant Hearings

 Re-Hearings

 Re-Determination Decisions and Hearings

 Rescission Decisions and Hearings

 Parole Violation Hearings

 Restitution Decisions and Hearings

 Special Attention/Parole Condition Decisions and Hearings

 Pardon Hearings

 Commutation Hearings



ORIGINAL HEARINGS

Utah Admin Code R671-201

Board required to give notice of month and year 
of inmate’s original hearing within six months of 
commitment.

 Homicide, Att. Homicide Sentences:  Board determines 
original hearing date within three months of arrival at 
prison.

 1st Deg. (16+ to Life): OH at 15 years.

 1st Deg. (10-15 to Life): OH at 7 years.

 1st Deg. (>10 to Life): OH at 36 months.

 2nd Deg. (sex offenses): OH at 18 months.

 2nd Deg.: OH at 6 months. 

 3rd Deg. (sex offense): OH at 12 months.

 3rd Deg.: OH at 3 months.



ORIGINAL HEARINGS

Utah Admin Code R671-201

Decisions made at original hearings can include the 
following:

1)  Parole date w/associated conditions.

2)  Re-Hearing date.

3) Termination date.

4) Expiration of sentence.

Inmates who are sentenced to death or life without 
parole are not granted an original hearing.



SPECIAL ATTENTION REVIEWS

 Adjusting time and conditions of release. 

 Adjusting conditions of parole.

 Progress or violations of parole.

 Termination of parole.

 Re-determinations.

 Response to requests.



PREPARING FOR A HEARING / 

THE BOARD’S FILE

 Judgment/Commitment Orders and court communications.

 Pre and Post-Sentence Investigations.

 Prosecuting and Defense Attorney communications.

 Department of Corrections reports.

 Victim communications.

 All correspondence, both positive and negative.

 Inmate reports generated by prison.



YOUR IMPACT

 INFORMATION, INFORMATION, INFORMATION!

 Statutory prosecutor duties.

 Restitution (amounts, hearings, stipulations, etc.)

 Prosecutor Recommendations.
 Guideline recommendations.

 Plea agreement considerations, reasons, etc.



Selected Statutes

77-27-7.   Parole or hearing dates --

 Within 6 mos. of commitment - BOPP must inform inmate 
of the tentative date of his first appearance before Board.

 Before final decision to release - the chair shall cause the 
offender to appear before the board for an in-person 
hearing.



Selected Statutes

76-3-401.   Concurrent or consecutive 
sentences -- Limitations.

 [(6)(a)] If a court imposes consecutive sentences, the 
aggregate maximum of all sentences imposed may not 
exceed 30 years imprisonment.

 The limitation doesn’t apply to:

 1st Degree or Capital Sentences

 New offenses / sentences for conduct after initial sentence was 
imposed.

 BOPP shall treat . . . as a single term that consists of the 

aggregate of the validly imposed prison terms.



Selected Statutes

 77-18-5.   Reports by . . .prosecuting 
attorneys to Board of Pardons and Parole.

 Where an indeterminate sentence is imposed, the 
judge and prosecuting attorney may, within 30 
days, mail a statement to the Board of Pardons 
and Parole setting forth the term for which the 
prisoner ought to be imprisoned together with any 
information which might aid the board . . .



PARDONS
[1896]

 The Board of Pardons and Parole, by majority 
vote and upon other conditions as provided by 
statute, may grant parole, remit fines, forfeitures, 
and restitution orders, commute punishments, 
and grant pardons after convictions, in all 
cases except treason and impeachments, subject 
to regulations as provided by statute.

~ UTAH CONST. Art. VII, Sec. 12(2)(a) 



PARDONS
[1953]

 BOPP “shall determine by majority decision when 
and under what conditions . . . may be . . . 
pardoned”.

~ Utah Code Ann. §77-27-5(1)(a)



PARDONS
[1953]

 A commutation or pardon may be granted only 
after a full hearing before the board.

~ Utah Code Ann. §77-27-5(1)(d)

 "Pardon" is an act of grace by an appropriate 
authority exempting a person from punishment 
for a crime.  

~ Utah Code Ann. §77-27-1(12).



PARDONS

What is a Pardon?  

 When total clemency is granted, the person to whom 
clemency was granted is as innocent as if he had never 
committed the offense.

~ Ex Parte Garland, 71 U.S. 333, 393 (1866).



PARDONS
What is a Pardon?  

A pardon is an act of grace by which an offender is released from the 
consequences of his offense, so far as such release is practicable and 
within control of the pardoning power, or of officers under its 
direction.  It releases the offender from all disabilities imposed by the 
offense, and restores to him all of his civil rights.  In contemplation of 
law, it so far blots out the offense, that afterwards it cannot be 
imputed to him to prevent assertion of his legal rights.  It gives him 
new credit and capacity, and rehabilitates him to that extent in his 
former position.

~ Knote v. United States, 95 U.S. 149, 153 (1877).



PARDONS
What is a Pardon?  

[2013] {HB 33}

"Pardon" is an act of grace that forgives a criminal conviction and 
restores the rights and privileges forfeited by or because of the 
criminal conviction. A pardon releases an offender from the entire 
punishment prescribed for a criminal offense and from disabilities that 
are a consequence of the criminal conviction. A pardon reinstates any 
civil rights lost as a consequence of conviction or punishment for a 
criminal offense.

 ~ Utah Code Ann. §77-27-1(12)



PARDONS
What does a pardon mean?  

[2013-14] {HB 33 (2013) / HB 366 (2014)}

(1) Upon granting a pardon, the board shall issue an expungement
order, directing any criminal justice agency to remove the recipient's 
identifying information relating to the expunged convictions from its 
records.

(2) An expungement order, issued by the board, has the same legal 
effect and authority as an order of expungement issued by a court, 
pursuant to Title 77, Chapter 40, Utah Expungement Act.

~ Utah Code Ann. §77-27-5.1



PARDONS

How?  

The Board may consider an application for a pardon from any 
individual who has been convicted of an offense in the state of Utah, 
after the applicant has exhausted all judicial remedies, including 
expungement, in an effort to ameliorate the effects of the conviction.  
The Board generally will accept and consider a pardon application only 
after at least five years has passed since the sentence for the 
conviction has been terminated or expired.

~ Utah R. Admin. P. R671-315-1(A)



PARDONS
How?  

 Completed application.

 Police reports;

 Pre- or Post- sentence reports;

 Applicant's inmate files;

 Current BCI report, NCIC report, and III report;

 Applicant's employment history;

 Verification that all restitution, fines, fees, or surcharges have been 
paid in full; and

 Verification that the applicant completed therapy programs ordered by 
any court or by the Board.

~ Utah R. Admin. P. R671-315-1(A)(2)



PARDONS
How?  

 Preliminary Vote for Hearing (Application, BOPP File, BCI)

 Notice:

 Victim;

 Court;

 Arresting Agency / Investigating Agency;

 Prosecution Agency.

 State Public Notice website & Board website.

 Hearing:

 Personal Appearance

 Victims, Noticees

 Full Board

 Final Vote



THE UTAH 
BOARD OF PARDONS & PAROLE

Address: 448 East Winchester Street
Suite 300
Murray, Utah 84107

Telephone: (801) 261-6464
FAX: (801) 261-6481
E-Mail: bopinfo@utah.gov
Web: www.bop.utah.gov

Administrative Coordinator: Greg Johnson
Chief Hearing Officer: Jan Nicol
Administrative Secretary: Julie K. Brown

mailto:bopinfo@utah.gov

