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Notes:

Session Ended March 13 at Midnight (hours ago)

General Effective Date is May 13, 2014, unless otherwise noted.
Most bills are not yet in their “enrolled form.”

The governor could veto a bill discussed here, though very unlikely.
Not All Criminal Bills Are Discussed (Too Many)

This presentation is intended to be a-political.
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SB 13 — Theft Amendments
Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher

This bull:

» provides that the penalty for a third theft conviction in 10 years becomes a third
degree felony if one of the prior convictions was a class A misdemeanor;

» provides that the penalty for a third theft conviction in 10 years becomes a third
degree felony if the value of the property n the current case is more than $500 but
less than $1.500;

» provides that the penalty for a theft conviction is a third degree felony if that person
has been previously convicted of felony theft; and

» changes the penalty from a felony to a class A misdemeanor for a person convicted

of theft for a third time in 10 years.



“Good Samaritan Law”

58-37-13 HB 11 — Overdose Reporting
(15) (a) It is an affirmative defense to an allegation of the commission of an offense Rep Carol SpaCkman Moss

listed in Subsection (15)(b) that the person:

(1) @nably believesthat the person or another person is experiencing an overdose
I —— . .
event due to the ingestion, injection, inhalation, or other introduction into the human body of a Affi rmative Defe nse

controlled substance or other substance:; Appl ies to Possession

(ii)(reports in good faith the overdosd event to a medical provider, an emergency Cha rges ONLY.

medical service provider as defined in Section 26-8a-102, a law enforcement officer, a 911

emergency call system, or an emergency dispatch system. or the person is the subject of a

report made under this Subsection (15);

(iii) provides in the report under Subsection (15)(a)(ii) a functional description of the Utah curre ntly
actual/location of the overdose|event that facilitates responding to the person experiencing the ranks 4th in
 —— 7
overdoseevent; overdose deaths

(iv)_remains at the location of the person experiencing the overdoseevent until a
7

responding law enforcement officer or emergency medical service provider arrives, or remains

at the medical care facility where the person experiencing an overdose event is located until a

responding law enforcement officer arrives:

v)| cooperates with the responding medical

provider, and law enforcement officer, including providing information regarding the person

experiencing the overdose event and any substances the person may have injected. inhaled, or

otherwise introduced into the person's body; and

(vi) i1s alleged to have committed the@nse in the same course of events from which

the reported overdose arose.

Becomes Effective Upon Signing

*ABC 4 News, Utah — February 2014



SB 205 — Controlled Substance Penalty Amendments
Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard

58-37-8. Prohibited acts -- Penalties.

(2) Prohibited acts B -- Penalties:
(a) It 1s unlawful:

(1) for any person knowingly and intentionally to possess or use a controlled substance

(15) The application of any increase in penalty under this section to a violation of

Subsection (2)(a)(1) may not result in any greater penalty than a second degree felony. This

Subsection (15) takes precedence over any conflicting provision of this section.

Limitation Applies Only to Possession Cases



HB 71 Rep. Marie Poulson

REVENGE PORN

76-5b-203. Distribution of an intimate image -- Penalty.

(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Distribute" means selling, exhibiting, displaying, wholesaling, retailing, providing,

olving, granting admission to, providing access to, or otherwise transferring or presenting an

1image to another individual, with or without consideration.

(b) "Intimate 1image" means any visual depiction, photograph. film, video, recording,

picture, or computer or computer-generated image or picture, whether made or produced by

electronic, mechanical, or other means, that depicts:

(1) exposed human male or female genitals or pubic area, with less than an opaque

covering;
(ii) a female breast with less than an opague covering, or any portion of the female

breast below the top of the arcola; or

(111) the individual engaged in any sexually explicit conduct.




HB 71 Rep. Marie Poulson

REVENGE PORN

(c) "Sexually explicit conduct” means actual or simulated:

(1) sexual intercourse, including genital-genital, oral-genital, anal-genital, or oral-anal,

whether between persons of the same or opposite sex;

(11) masturbation;

(iii) bestiality:

(1v) sadistic or masochistic activities;

(v) exhibition of the genitals, pubic region, buttocks, or female breast of any

individual;

(vi) visual depiction of nudity or partial nudity:

(vii) fondling or touching of the genitals, pubic region, buttocks, or female breast; or

(vi1) explicit representation of the defecation or urination functions.

(d) "Simulated sexually explicit conduct" means a feigned or pretended act of sexually

explicit conduct that duplicates, within the perception of an average person, the appearance of

an actual act of sexually explicit conduct.

(Thanks for the thorough definition, Rep. Poulson!)



HB 71 Rep. Marie Poulson REVENGE P@RN

(2) An actor commits the offense of distribution of intimate images if the actor, with

the intent to cause H=» [severe] &=H emotional distress or harm. knowingly or intentionally

distributes to

any third party any intimate image of an individual who is 18 years of age or older, if:

(a) the actor knows that the depicted individual has not given consent to the actor to

distribute the intimate image;

(b) the intimate image was created by or provided to the actor under circumstances in

which the individual has a reasonable expectation of privacy; and

(c) actual H=» emotional distress or ¢=H harm is caused to the person H=» [and-the harm-is|

as «H a result of the distribution under
this section. Class A Misdemeanor for

First Offense.

(3) This section does not apply to:

(a) (1) lawful practices of law enforcement agencies: Third Degree for Second

(11) prosccutorial agency functions; or Subsequent Offense.
(111) the reporting of a criminal offense:

(iv) court proceedings or any other judicial proceeding; or

(v) lawful and generally accepted medical practices and procedures:

(b) an intimate image 1f the individual portrayed in the image voluntarily allows public

exposure of the image; or

(¢) an intimate image that is portrayed in a lawful commercial setting.




Sexual Abuse Laws
HB 257 — Aggravated Sexual Abuse of Child Amendments

Rep. Brad R. Wilson (Bill is intended to address State v. Watkins (Utah 2013)

76-5-404.1. Sexual abuse of a child - Aggravated sexual abuse of a child.
Section Applies to Conduct with Child 13 and Younger — Aggravating the Charge

(4) (h) the offense was committed by a person who occupied a position of special trust in

relation to the victim: [“posttronrofspectat-trast-means-that posttionroccupted-by-apersontra

76-5-406. Sexual offenses against the victim without consent of victim --

Circumstances. (Definition is also used to negate consent for those between 14 and 18)
(10) the victim 1s younger than 18 years of age and at the time of the offense the actor
was the victim's parent, stepparent, adoptive parent, or legal guardian or occupied a position of

special trust in relation to the victim as defined in [Subseetton] Section 76-5-404. 1 [&HHD)]:



Sexual Abuse Laws
HB 257 — Aggravated Sexual Abuse of Child Amendments

Rep. Brad R. Wilson (Bill is intended to address State v. Watkins (Utah 2013)

76-5-404.1. Sexual abuse of a child - Aggravated sexual abuse of a child.
(1) As used 1n this section[;“ehild"-means-apersomrunder-theageof+4-]:

(a) "Adult" means an individual 18 years of age or older.

(b) "Child" means an individual under the age of 14.

(c) "Position of special trust" means:

(x1) a grandparent;

(1) an adoptive parent;

(xi1) a legal guardian;

(1) an athletic manager who is an adult;

(x1i1) a natural parent;

(1i1) an aunt;

(xiv) a recreational leader who is an adult;

(1v) a babysitter;

(xv) areligious leader:
(v) acoach; H-» (xvi) a sibling or a step-sibling who is an adult; ¢H
(vi) acohabitant of a parent if the cohabitant is an adult; ey [geviy] (xvii) €H a scout leader who is an adult;

(vii) a counselor; H=» [eevi}] (xviii) &H a stepparent:

(viii) a doctor or physician; H= [&xviii)] (xix) ¢H a teacher;

(ix) an emplover; H= [@d)] (xx) ¢H an uncle;

(x) a foster parent; H=> [&)] (xxi) ¢&=H a youth leader who is an adult; or

Plus: (xxii) any person in a position of authority, other than those persons listed
[above] which enables the person to exercise undue influence over the child.



Sexual Abuse Laws
HB 213 — Criminal Penalties for Sexual Contact with Student

Rep. Lavar Christensen

76-5-401.1. Sexual abuse of 2 minor.

Non-Force Sexual Activity — Victim is 14 or 15 years old.

(2) A person commits sexual abuse of a minor if the person is seven years or more

older than the minor H=» or holds a relationship of special trust as an adult teacher, emplovee,

or volunteer, as described in Subsection 76-5-404.1(c)(xix) ¢=H and, under circumstances not

(3) (a) A violation of this section is a class A misdemeanor[;], except under Subsection

(3)(b).

(b) A violation of this section is a third degree felony if the actor at the time of the

commission of the offense:

(1) 1s 18 vears of age or older;

(11) held a position of special trust as a teacher or a volunteer at a school, as that
position i1s defined in Subsection 76-5-404.1(1)(c)(xix); and

(111) committed the offense against an individual who at the time of the offense was

enrolled as a student at the school where the actor was employed or was acting as a volunteer.




HB 213 — Criminal Penalties for Sexual Contact with Student Sexual Abuse Laws
Rep. Lavar Christensen

76-5-401.2. Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16- or 17-year-old.

(2) (a) A person commits unlawful sexual conduct with a minor if, under
circumstances not amounting to an offense listed under Subsection (3), a person who is:

(1) seven or more years older but less than 10 years older than the minor at the time of
the sexual conduct engages in any conduct listed in Subsection (2)(b), and the person knew or
reasonably should have known the age of the minor; H=» [ex] &H

(i1) 10 or more years older than the minor at the time of the sexual conduct and engages

(f‘\

in any conduct listed in Subsection (2)(b) H

(1ii) @holds a relationship of special trust as an adult teacher, emplovee, or volunteer, as
described in Subsection 76-5-404.1(c)(xix) ¢&=H .




HB 213 — Criminal Penalties for Sexual Contact with Student Sexual Abuse Laws
Rep. Lavar Christensen

76-5-401.2. Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16- or 17-year-old.

(more than fondling, sex etc.)

\
[ |

(4) A violation of Subsection (2)(b)(1), (i1), or (iii) is a third degree felony.

(5) (a) A violation of Subsection (2)(b)(iv) is a class A misdemeanor[:], except under

Subsection (5)(b). (fondling)
(b) A violation of Subsection (2)(b)(iv) is a third degree felony if the actor at the time

of the commission of the offense:

(1) 1s 18 vyears of age or older;

(1) held a position of special trust as a teacher or a volunteer at a school, as that

position 1s defined in Subsection 76-5-404.1(1)(c)(xix): and

(111) committed the offense against an individual who at the time of the offense was

enrolled as a student at the school where the actor was emploved or was acting as a volunteer.

76-5-415. Educator's licen:

Age Differences Do Not Matter Under this new Subsection.  cmismm
(For Example, the volunteer T.A. is 18, victim is 17 = crime). “===

se subject to action for violation of this part.

nder this Title 76, Chapter 5, Part 4, Sexual Offenses, by




HB 213 — Human Trafficking Victim Amendments Sexual Abuse Laws
Rep. Jennifer M. Seelig

This bill:
» provides that a child is not subject to a delinquency proceeding for engaging in
prostitution unless a law enforcement officer has referred the child to the Division

of Child and Family Services on at least one prior occasion for an alleged act of

prostitution or sexual solicitation;

(b) Upon encountering a child engaged in prostitution or sexual solicitation, a law

enforcement officer shall:

(1) conduct an investigation:

(1) refer the child to the division;

(ii1) if an arrest is made, bring the child to a receiving center, if available:; and

(iv) contact the child's parent or guardian, if practicable.

(d) If law enforcement has not referred the child to the division under Subsection

(3)(b)(i1) on at least one prior occasion, the division shall provide services to the child under

Title 62A, Chapter 4a.

(e) If law enforcement has referred the child to the division under Subsection (3)(b)(ii)

on at least one prior occasion the child may be subject to delinquency proceedings under Title

62A, Chapter 7 and Section 78 A-6-601 through Section 78A-6-704.




HB 295 — Weapons Law Exemptions WEAPONS LAWS
Rep. Richard Greenwood
NEW BRANDISHING STATUTE

76-10-506. Threatening with or using dangerous weapon in fight or quarrel.
(1) As used in this section H= [5] :

(a) "Dangerous weapon' means an item that in the manner of its use or intended use is

capable of causing death or serious bodily injury. The following factors shall be used in

determining whether an item, object, or thing is a dangerous weapon:

(i) the character of the instrument, object, 0;:1}-‘/—> (restricted persons)
(ii) the character of the wound produced. if any; and (self defense)

(iii) the manner in which the instrument, Q()ject, or thiﬁs exhibited or used.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in S
described 1n Section 76-10-503;
persons, [}] and not amounting to a violation of Section 76-5-103,%]31_
draws or exhibits a dangerous weapon H=» [as-defined-inSection76-1-661] &H in an angry and

threatening manner or unlawfully uses a dangerous weapon in a fight or quarrel is guilty of a

fon 76-2-402and for those persons (Agg Assault)

person who H=» [{] , in the presence of two or more

class A misdemeanor. o
Removes reference for dangerous weapon definition, thus

losing mention of a knife, or “other lawful purposes” of use.



$LIBERTAS WEAPONS LAWS

HB 268 — Dangerous Weapons Amendments INDIVIDUAL LIBERTY
. PRIVATE PROPERTY
Rep. Brian M. Greene FREE ENTERPRISE

(6) (a) "Dangerous weapon" means:

(1) a fircarm; or

(i1) an [ttem] object that in the manner of its use or intended use is capable of causing
death or serious bodily injury.

(b) The following factors [shattbe] are used in determining whether [aknife;or
anothertten; | any object, [orthingnotecommonty knowmasadangerousweapon] other than a

firearm 1s a dangerous weapon:
(1) the [characterofthemstrument;] location and circumstances in which the object[ror
thimg| was used or possessed: I

(i1) the primary purpose for which the object was made:

[tty] (111) the character of the wound, if any. produced[;tfany] by the object's unlawful
use:

[trr)] (1v) the manner in which the [mstroment;] object[;orthing] was unlawfully used;
[and]

(v) whether the manner in which the object 1s used or possessed constitutes a potential

imminent threat to public safety: and
[ttv)] (vi) the [other] lawful purposes for which the [tnstrament;] object[or-thing] may

be used.



LIBERTAS
HB 268 — Dangerous Weapons Amendments INDIVIDUAL LBERTY WEAPONS LAWS

PRIVATE PROPERTY

Rep. Brian M. Greene FREE ENTERPRISE

Adds: (7) (a) It is an affirmative defense to transferring a firearm H=? [{] or other dangerous
weapon [{] «H
by a person restricted under Subsection (2) or (3) that the firearm H= [] or dangerous

weapon [} «H

(8) (a) A person may not sell. transfer, or otherwise dispose of any firearm or

dangerous weapon to any person, knowing that the recipient is a person described in

. L Se———
Subsection (1)(a) or (b). (restricted)

(b) A person who violates Subsection (8)(a) when the recipient is:

(1) a person described in Subsection (1)(a) and the transaction involves a firearm, is
guilty of a second degree felony;
(1) a person described i Subsection (1)(a) and the transaction involves any dangerous

weapon other than a firearm, and the transferor has knowledge that the recipient intends to use

the weapon for any unlawful purpose, is guilty of a third degree felony:;

You may now knowingly sell non-firearm weapons to felons.



WEAPONS LAWS

HB 268 — Dangerous Weapons Amendments
Rep. Brian M. Greene

Finally:
76-10-512. Target concessions, shooting ranges, competitions, and hunting
excepted from prohibitions.

(2) It is not a violation of Subsection 76-10-503(2) or (3) for a restricted person defined

in Section 76-10-503(1) to own, possess, or have under the person's custody or control, archery

equipment, including crossbows. for the purpose of lawful hunting and lawful target shooting.

(3) Notwithstanding Subsection (2), the possession of archery equipment, including

crossbows, by a restricted person defined in Subsection 76-10-503(1) may be prohibited by:

(a) a court, as a condition of pre-trial release or probation; or

(b) the Board of Pardons and Parole, as a condition of parole.

A convicted violent felon (not on probation or parole) may possess archery
equipment, including crossbows.

SCREENING TIP:
*There is no cross-reference in 76-10-503 to this statute!



HB 70
2"d Substitute k%
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HB 70 - 2nd Substitute

77-23-210, Force used in executing a search warrant -- When notice of authority
i required as a prevequisite,

(1) When a search warrant has been issued authorzng entry into any building, room,
conveyince, compartment, or other enclosure, the officer executing the warrant may [osesmeh
torceas s remsomabty necessary o || enter:

[EH] [a) if, alter notice of the officers authority and purpose, there is no respense or the

officer is not admitted with reasonable prompiness; or

[£24] (b without notice of the officer's authority and purpose[ - themagstrate tssmmg
SHTS =t c C 1 rees| as provided in

Subsection (3).

(2} The officer executing the warrant under Subsection (1) may use only that force

which is reasonable and necessary o execute the warranl.

(31 {a) The officer shall identify himself or herself and state the purpose of entering the

premises as s00n as practicable.

(h] The officer may enter without noiice only 1ff

there is reason te believe the notice will endanger the Life or safety of the officer or

another JCTSOMN,

(it there is probable cause to believe thai evidence may be easaly or quickly secreted or

destroved; or

) i) ihe magisiie, having found probable cause based vpon proof provided under

oath, that the object of the search may be easily or guicklv secreted or destroved. or having

) found reason

directed that the officer need not give notice of authority and purpose before entering the

to believe that physical harmm may result 1o any person if notice were given, has

premises to be scarched under Rule 40, Rules of Criminal Procedure.

(4) (a) The officer shall take reasonable precautions in execution of any search warrant

to minimize the risks of unnceessarily confrontational or invasive methods which may result in

harm to any person.

(b} The officer shall minimize the risk of scarching the wrong premises by verifying

that the premises being searched is consistent with a particularized description in the search

warrant, including such factors as the type of structure, the color, the address. and orientation

of the target property in relation 10 nearby structures as is reasenably necessary.

Section 3. Effective date,

@iu 1akes effect on July 1, 2014,

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION PRIVATE PROPERTY
af UTAH FREE ENTERPRISE

LIBERTAS

—=='INSTITUTE ==

INDIVIDUAL LIBERTY

For a Residence,
There Are Now
Two Different
Standards For

—__ Non-Announce

Warrants, with
Those Standards
in Statute, NOT
in Rule 40.

This part is more of a “best
practices” section — what if
the agency violates this
section?



HB 128 - 15t Substitute g,é ACLU
Rep. Ryan Wilcox ‘

e

INDIVIDUAL LIBERTY
PRIVATE PROPERTY
FREE ENTERPRISE

Places in Statute Standards to Obtain a
Warrant for “Electronic Location” or
“Electronic Data” — But the Warrant
Itself is Obtained Under Rule 40.
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HB 128 - 15t Substitute
Rep. Ryan Wilcox

A 4 k- I B
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AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
of UTAH

CHAPTER 23¢. LOCATION PRIVACY FOR ELECTRONIC DEVICES
77-23¢~101. Definitions.
As used in this chapter:

(1) "Electronic communication service" means a service that provides to users of the

service the ability to send or receive wire or electronic comimunicaiions.

(2} "Electronic device" means a device that enables access to or use of an electronic -

communication Service, remote computing service, or location information service.

{(3) "Government entity" means the state, a county, a municipality, a higher education

institution, a local district, a special service district, or any other political subdivision of the

stale or an administrative subunit of any political subdivision, including a law enforcement

entity or any cther investigative entity, agency, department, division, bureau, board, or

commission, or an individual acting or purporting to act for or on behalf of a state or local

agency.
{4) "Location information" means information concerning the location of an elecironic I

device that, in whole or in part, is generated or derived from or obtained by the operation of an

clectronic device.

(5) "Location information scrvice” means the provision of a global positioning scrvice

or other mapping, location, or directional information service.

(6) "Remote computing service” means the provision of computer storage or

processing services by means of an electronic communications system.




HB 128 - 15t Substitute
Rep. Ryan Wilcox

77-23¢-102. Location information privacy -- Warrant required for disclosure.

(1} (a) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a government entity may not obtain the

location information, stored data, or transmitted data of an electronic device without a search
warrant issued by a court upon probable cause.

(b} Except as provided in Subsection (1}{c), a government entity may not use, copy, or

disclose, for any purpose, the location information, stored data, or transmitted data of an
electronic device that isfiot the subject of the warrant that is collected as part of an effort to
-—

obtain the location informaftion, stored data, or transmitted data of the electronic device that is

the subject of the warrant in Subsection (1){(a).

{c) A government entity may use, copy, or disclose the transmitted data of an electronic

device used to communicate with the electronic device that is the subject of the warrant if the

government entity reasonably believes that the transmitted data is necessary to achieve the

objective of the warrant,
(d) The data described in Subsection {1)(b) shall be destroyed 1 an unrecoverable
manner by the government entity H— [nolaterthan24-heurs| as soon as reasonably possible ¢H .

after the data is collected.




HB 128 - 15t Substitute
Rep. Ryan Wilcox

77-23¢-103. Notification required -- Delayed notification.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a government entity that executes a warrant

pursuant to Subsection 77-23¢-102(1}a) shall, within 14 days after the day on which the

operation S=» [eemmenees| concludes ¢35 | issue a notification to the owner of the electronic

device gpecified in the U

warrant that states:

{a) that a warrant was applied for and granted;
(b) the kind of warrant issued;

{c) the period of time during which the cellection of data from the electronic device

was authorized;

(d) the offense specified in the application for the warrant:

(¢} the identity of the government entity that filed the application; and
(f) the identity of the judge who issued the warrant. &

(2) A government entity secking a warrant pursuant to Subsection 77-23¢-102(1)(a)

may submit a request, and the court may grant permission, to delay the notification required by

Subsection (1) for a period not to exceed 30 davs, if the court defermines that there is probable

cause fo believe that the notification may;

(a) endanger the life or physical safety of an mdividual;

(b} cause a person to flee from prosecution;

(¢) lead to the destruction of or tampering with evidence;

(d} intimidate a potential witness; or

(e} otherwise seriously jeopardize an investigation or unduly delay a trial.







LIBERTAS

v os AT ] SB 167 — 2" Substitute
Fesewense ACLU Sen. Howard Stephenson

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
of UTAH

(4) (a) "Unmanncd acrial vchicle" means an aircraft that:

(1) is capable of sustaining flight: and

(ii) operates with no possible direct human intervention from on or within the aircraft.

(b) "Unmanned aerial vehicle" does not include an unmanned aircraft that is flown:

(1) within visual line of sight of the individual operating the aircraft; and

(11) strictly for hobby or recreational purposes.

63G-18-103. Warrant required -- Exceptions.

S= (1) «S A law enforcement agency may not obtain. receive. or use data acquired through

an

unmanned aerial vehicle unless the data 1s obtained:

S= (] () «S pursuant to a search warrant:

S= [@)] (b) ¢S in accordance with judicially recognized exceptions to warrant

requirements; or

S= [(3)] (¢) subject to Subsection (2), &S from a person who is a non S=» [-] €S

£0 vernment actor.

S= (2 A nongovernment actor may only disclose data acquired through an

unmanned aerial vehicle to a law enforcement agency if:

(a)  the data appears to pertain to the commission of a crime; or

(b) the nongovernment actor believes, in good faith, that:

(i) the data pertains to an imminent or ongoing emergency involving

danger of death or serious bodily injury te an individual; and

(i)  disclosing the data would assist in remedying the cmergency. ¢S

Also has extensive
reporting
requirements for law
enforcement.

* Requires
destruction of
evidence not related
to the investigation
‘as soon as
practicable’

*Does NOT prevent
private actors from

using drones to spy
on neighbors, etc.



SB 46 — Administrative Subpoena Modifications rpun o
PRIVATE PROPERTY
Sen. Mark Madsen reeevrernse Ve AC LU

(2) When a law enforcement agency is investigating a sexual offense against a minor,

an offense of stalking under Section 76-5-106.5, or an offense of child kidnapping under Officer Must Now Obtain a
Section 76-5-301.1, and has reasonable suspicion that an electronic communications system or Court Order for Internet
service or remote computing service has been used in the commission of a criminal offense, User SUb_SCﬂber
[theproseeutor may-tssucamadministrativesubpoena; | a law enforcement agent shall: Information

(a) articulate specific facts showing reasonable grounds to believe that the records or Even Though The
other information sought, as designated in Subsection (¢)(i) through (v), are relevant and Information Obtained is
material to an ongoing investigation; Non-Content, Less

(b) present the request to a prosccutor for review and authorization to proceed; and Informative Than Running

A Check of a Car

(c) submit the request to a district court judge for a court order, consistent with 18

U.S.C. 2703 and 18 U.S.C. 2702, to the electronic communications system or service or remote ReQIStratlon

computing service provider that owns or controls the Internet protocol address, websites, email And is Simil arly Placed
address, or service to a specific telephone number, requiring the production of the following |nto the Public, Albeit
information, if available, upon providing in the [stubpoena] court order the Internet protocol ~Electronically.

address, email address. telephone number, or other identifier, and the dates and times the

address, telephone number, or other identifier was suspected of being used in the commission

of the offense:

EFFECTIVE UPON SIGNING

[ta}] (i) names of subscribers, service customers, and users;

[tb}] (i1) addresses of subscribers, service customers, and users;




HB 185 Juvenile Detention Facility Amendments
Rep. Erik K. Hutchings

78A-6-701. Jurisdiction of district court.
(Direct File Cases)

(4) A minor arrested under this section shall be held in a juvenile detention facility

until the district court determines where the minor shall be held until the time of trial, except

for defendants who are otherwise subject to the authority of the Board of Pardons and Parole.

(5) The district court shall consider the following when determining where the minor

will be held until the time of trial:

(a) the age of the minor;

(b) the nature, seriousness, and circumstances of the alleged offense;

(c) the minor's history of prior criminal acts:

(d) whether detention in a juvenile detention facility will adequately serve the need for

community protection pending the outcome of any criminal proceedings:

(¢) whether the minor's placement in a juvenile detention facility will negatively impact

the functioning of the facility by compromising the goals of the facility to maintain a safe,

positive, and secure environment for all minors within the facility:

(f) the relative ability of the facility to meet the needs of the minor and protect the

public;
(g) whether the minor presents an imminent risk of harm to the minor or others within

the facility;
(h) the physical maturity of the minor;

(1) the current mental state of the minor as evidenced by relevant mental health or

psychological assessments or screenings that are made available to the court: and

(1) any other factors the court considers relevant.




HB 185 Juvenile Detention Facility Amendments
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78A-6-701. Jurisdiction of district court.
(Direct File Cases)

(6) A minor ordered to a juvenile detention facility under Subsection (5) shall remain

in the facility until released by a district court judge. or if convicted, until sentencing.

(7) A minor held in a juvenile detention facility under this section shall have the same

right to bail as any other criminal defendant.

(8) If the minor ordered to a juvenile detention facility under Subsection (3) attains the

age of 18 years, the minor H=? [wilt] shall ¢H be transferred within 30 days to an adult jail

until released by

the district court judge, or if convicted. until sentencing.

(9) A minor 16 years of age or older whose conduct or condition endangers the safety

or welfare of others in the juvenile detention facility may. by court order that specifies the

reasons, be detained in another place of confinement considered appropriate by the court,

including jail or other place of pretrial confinement for adults.
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78A-6-702. Serious vouth offender -- Procedure.
(Bindover Cases)

(6) At the time the minor is bound over to the district court, the juvenile court shall

make the initial determination on where the minor shall be held.

(7) The juvenile court shall consider the following when determining where the minor

shall be held until the time of trial:

(Same Factors)

(12) H=» [A] The ¢=H district court may H=$ [review]| reconsider ¢=H the decision
H= [madeby-the juveniteeourt] €H on where the

minor will be held pursuant to Subsection (6).

78A-6-703. Certification hearings -- Juvenile court to hold preliminary hearing --

Factors considered by juvenile court for waiver of jurisdiction to district court.

(Same Process)
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FREE ENTERPRISE

(4) [faj] "Claimant" means any:

[(1)] (a) owner of property as defined in this section;

[6m)] (b) interest holder as defined in this section; or

G : ; iesolzsd for forfitre]

[ ; ; ; ;
oforinterestmproperty:|

(c) person or entity who asserts a claim to any property seized for forfeiture under this

title.
24-4-104. Civil forfeiture procedure.
(1) (a) §= [Within{961-60-daysfromthe-date the property-is seized; the prosecuting

]

The law enforcement agency shall promptly return seized property. and the prosecuting

attorney may take no further action to effect the forfeiture of the property, unless within 75

days after the property is seized the prosecuting attorney:

(1) files a criminal forfeiture indictment or information under Subsection 24-4-105(2):

(ii) obtains a restraining order under Subsection 24-4-105(3);

(iii) files a petition under Subsection 24-4-114(1); or

(iv) files a civil forfeiture complaint. €S
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(b) The prosecuting attorney is not required to serve a copy of the complaint or the

summons upon any claimant who has disclaimed, in writing, an ownership interest in the

seized property.

(d) Service by publication shall be by publication of two notices, in two successive

weeks, of the forfeiture proceeding:

(1) 1n a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the seizure occurred:

and
(11) on Utah's Public Legal Notice Website established in Subsection 45-1-101(2)(b).

24-4-114. 'Transfer and sharing procedures.

All of the provisions, relating to the need for a
Petition for Turnover of Property, Notice, Hearing,
have been put back into the statute.



The End

Contact Information:

Chad Platt

Deputy District Attorney, SL County DA
385-468-7667
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